Learn more about volleyball seating at Tokyo 2020

Sitting volleyball made its debut at the Paralympic Games in Arnhem (Netherlands) in 1980. A consistent phase, when the sport emerged in 1956 for the relocation of soldiers to Dutch territory, included the addition of ‘traditional volleyball’. “. sitting ball, game of German origin (also intended for disabled people). Some rules are the same (like sitting) and some less: No sitting ballThe ball can bounce off the ground.

There are similarities between sitting volleyball and “traditional” volleyball. In either case, the dispute takes place in a best-of-five set, with the team winning three winners, always with a minimum margin of two points over the opponent. The first four sets end when one of the teams reaches 25 points. The last one, who. is called decisive game, Goes up to 15 points.

In sitting volleyball, unlike in “traditional” volleyball, the serve can be blocked and the net can be hit. However, athletes must remain seated to perform the games.

The number of players on each side of the field is also the same: six. The difference is that they are divided into two classes according to the degree of disability. In VS1, voids are players or players with greater mobility. Others, with less physical-motor impairment, find themselves in VS2. Each team’s team can only have two VS2s, and they cannot be on the pitch at the same time – which is ten meters long by six meters wide, with net heights ranging from 1.05 meters ( women) to 1.15 meters (women). East. I (male).

Brazil have been participating in volleyball at the Paralympic Games since the 2008 Games in Beijing, China, when the men’s team finished sixth. Four years later, in London (UK), the country was present for both men and women: the country finished fifth in both. At Rio 2016, the women’s team won their first Brazilian medal in modality, with the men’s team finishing fourth with bronze.

The men’s team made their debut against Iran, the six Paralympic gold medalists, on the 28th (Saturday) at 6.30am Brasilia time. The women’s team made their debut against Canada at the same time a day earlier – Reuters / Useli Marcelino / All rights reserved

On the men’s side, Iran is the most victorious country, having won six Paralympic gold medals and two silver medals in the last eight editions. Holland and Bosnia-Herzegovina, both double champions, complete the list of titles. The third European conquest took place in Toronto (Canada) in 1976, but, at the time, the terms of an exhibition were contested. In the women’s competition, which only started playing in the 2004 Games in Athens (Greece), China has won the tournament three times, but lost to the United States in Rio de Janeiro in 2016.


The women’s team will be the first team to play in Tokyo. On Friday 27 (Friday) at 6:30 a.m. (Brasilia time), the Brazilian players will face Canada. On the 29th at 8:30 am, he meets Japanese hostesses. The opponents will face the Italians on the 31st at 10pm. The top two in the group advance to the semi-finals, which will take place on September 3. Gold will be decided on the 5th.

The men’s team will debut against China on the 28th at 6:30 am. The opponent will be Iran, the current world and Paralympic champion, at 8:30 am on the 30th. The next day, at 2 am, the Brazilians are measuring their strength with Germany. If they qualify, their semi-final duel will take place on September 2, with the final on September 4.

Source link

About Paul Cox

Check Also

Georgian homes on South Shields’ Beach Road become homes again, 200 years after they were first built

South Tyneside Council’s planning department recently registered an application for 1, 3 and 3a Beach …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.